The Optical Society bestows 18 awards for 2011

April 9, 2011
Washington, DC--The Optical Society (OSA) is has announced the 2011 recipients of its prestigious awards and medals: a total of 18 awards have been bestowed.
Washington, DC--The Optical Society (OSA) is has announced the 2011 recipients of its prestigious awards and medals: a total of 18 awards have been bestowed.“OSA is proud to recognize and honor the innovations and dedication of these leaders in the field,” said OSA President Christopher Dainty. “This year’s recipients have demonstrated significant contributions to the field of optics and photonics and OSA congratulates them on their remarkable accomplishments.”

The winners include: Ivan P. Kaminow, Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize; Stephen M. Pompea, Esther Hoffman Beller Medal; Carlton M. Caves, Max Born Award; James H. Burge, Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize; Yasuhiko Arakawa, Nick Holonyak, Jr. Award; Mary Lou Jepsen, Edwin H. Land Medal; Lluis Torner, OSA Leadership Award; Jean Pierre Huignard, Emmett N. Leith Medal; Isao Noda, Ellis R. Lippincott Award; Elizabeth M. C. Hillman, Adolph Lomb Medal; Lihong V. Wang, C. E. K. Mees Medal; Steven T. Cundiff, William F. Meggers Award; Ishwar Aggarwal and Jas Sanghera, David Richardson Medal; Wilson Sibbett, Charles Hard Townes Award; David F. Welch, John Tyndall Award; Marlan O. Scully, Herbert Walther Award; Demetrios N. Christodoulides, R. W. Wood Prize. These award winners join an esteemed group of past recipients recognized for their unwavering commitment to the field of optics.

The review process for each of these awards is rigorous as each nominee is carefully evaluated by a selection committee. Although the criterion for each award differs, the selection process is the same. A nomination form is submitted with a brief citation summarizing the nominee’s accomplishments with a particular emphasis on those that make him/her a candidate for the award, a one-page narrative on the most significant events in the candidate’s career, curriculum vitae and four letters of reference for the candidate. The OSA Board of Directors appoints a committee to oversee each award or medal selection process. The committee is then responsible for the evaluation of each nominee and the selection of the individual or group that is most deserving of the award. Finally, the committee’s selection is presented to the OSA Board of Directors for their review and final approval.

details about the awards are available at

Posted by:Steve AndersonSubscribe nowtoLaser Focus Worldmagazine; It’s free!
Follow us on TwitterJoin us on Facebook

Sponsored Recommendations

Request a quote: Micro 3D Printed Part or microArch micro-precision 3D printers

April 11, 2024
See the results for yourself! We'll print a benchmark part so that you can assess our quality. Just send us your file and we'll get to work.

Request a free Micro 3D Printed sample part

April 11, 2024
The best way to understand the part quality we can achieve is by seeing it first-hand. Request a free 3D printed high-precision sample part.

How to Tune Servo Systems: The Basics

April 10, 2024
Learn how to tune a servo system using frequency-based tools to meet system specifications by watching our webinar!

Precision Motion Control for Sample Manipulation in Ultra-High Resolution Tomography

April 10, 2024
Learn the critical items that designers and engineers must consider when attempting to achieve reliable ultra-high resolution tomography results here!

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Laser Focus World, create an account today!