OSA, IEEE Photonics Society award Evgeny M. Dianov with 2017 John Tyndall Award

Dec. 1, 2016
The OSA and the IEEE Photonics Society have awarded Professor Evgeny M. Dianov the 2017 John Tyndall Award.

The Optical Society (OSA; Washington, DC) and the IEEE Photonics Society (Piscataway, NJ) have awarded Professor Evgeny M. Dianov of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS; Moscow, Russia) the 2017 John Tyndall Award. Dianov is being recognized "for pioneering leadership in optical fiber development and outstanding contributions to nonlinear fiber optics and optical fiber amplifiers." The award, one of the top honors in the fiber optics community, will be presented to Dianov during the plenary session of the 2017 Optical Fiber Conference (OFC), to take place March 19-23, 2017, in Los Angeles, CA.

Related: Bismuth-doped optical fibers: Advances in an active laser media

Dianov graduated from Moscow State University in 1960 and began his scientific career at the P. N. Lebedev Physics Institute of the USSR Academy of Sciences, where he worked until 1983. He then worked in the General Physics Institute until 2006, and has worked with the Fiber Optics Research Center of RAS since 2006. His research interests include laser physics, nonlinear optics, and fiber optics, and he has published more than 700 scientific papers and patents. He received the 1974 State Prize of the Soviet Union for neodymium glass lasers and, in 1994, became a Full Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Since 1974, Dianov has been involved with most aspects of fiber optics, including fiber fabrication technologies, fiber measurements, nonlinear fiber optics, soliton propagation, fiber lasers, and optical amplifiers. The main results included new types of optical fibers, such as high-strength hermetically metal-coated, dispersion-decreasing, nitrogen-doped, and low-loss highly nonlinear fibers; new results in nonlinear fiber optics, such as the first observation of soliton self-frequency shift, the discovery of electrostriction mechanism of soliton interaction, generation of a train of fundamental solitons at high repetition rate, and the proposal and experimental confirmation of a photovoltaic model of second-harmonic generation in glass fibers; and the development of highly efficient Raman fiber lasers and optical amplifiers.

Dianov received the State Prize of the Russian Federation for infrared (IR) fibers in 1998 and the Vavilov Gold Medal for studies of nonlinear processes in optical fibers and the development of fiber sources of radiation in visible and near-IR spectral ranges based on nonlinear phenomena.

The John Tyndall Award is named for the 19th century scientist, who was the first to demonstrate the phenomenon of internal reflection. First presented in 1987, the Tyndall Award recognizes an individual who has made pioneering, highly significant, or continuing technical or leadership contributions to fiber optic technology. Corning (Corning, NY) endows the award, a prize check and a glass sculpture that represents the concept of total internal reflection. The award is co-sponsored by the OSA and the IEEE Photonics Society.

For more information, please visit www.osa.org and www.photonicssociety.org.

About the Author

LFW Staff

Published since 1965, Laser Focus World—a brand and monthly magazine for engineers, researchers, scientists, and technical professionals—provides comprehensive global coverage of optoelectronic technologies, applications, and markets. With 80,000+ qualified print subscribers in print and over a half-million annual visitors to our online content, we are the go-to source to access decision makers and stay in-the-know.

Sponsored Recommendations

SLP feature for lighting control available on cameras offering

Nov. 28, 2023
A proprietary structured light projector (SLP) feature is now available on the company’s camera series, including the ace 2, boost R, ace U, and ace L.

Chroma Customer Spotlight - Dr. David Warshaw, About his Lab

Nov. 27, 2023
David Warshaw, Professor and Chair of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Vermont (UVM), walks us through his lab. Learn about his lab’s work with the protein...

Catalog of Filters and Filter Sets

Nov. 27, 2023
This price list provides information about the filter sets Chroma Technology has created for the multitude of fluorochromes that are typically used in epi-fluorescence microscopy...

Handbook of Optical Filters for Fluorescence Microscopy

Nov. 27, 2023
Fluorescence microscopy requires optical filters that have demanding spectral and physical characteristics. These performance requirements can vary greatly depending on the specific...

Voice your opinion!

To join the conversation, and become an exclusive member of Laser Focus World, create an account today!