September 18th webcast - Surface measurements in hostile environments with instantaneous phase measurement

Sep 18th, 2019

This LIVE webcast will be held:
September 18, 2019
at 11:00 AM EDT / 10:00 AM CDT / 8:00 AM PDT / 3:00 PM GMT

REGISTER HERE!


Event Description:

Using interference patterns to gauge the quality of optics is a technique that dates back nearly two centuries. Join industry expert, inventor, and 4D Technology co-founder Neal Brock, for a look at remarkable progress and achievements in optical metrology, culminating in the answers to questions like:

  • How are the precision optics in the largest, most powerful telescopes in the world tested?

  • How do you make sub-nanometer measurements of a telescope mirror, that’s too big to build a vibration isolation table for? 

  • How do you measure wavefront quality of an optical system that’s inside a cryogenic chamber?

  • How do you test an optic with parallel surfaces that can mutually interfere?

  • How do you measure the sub-micron shape change of a 3m tall carbon graphite segmented telescope support structure?

  • How do you measure the minuscule shape changes caused by vibration of a space telescope mirror?

  • How do measure the surface roughness of an optic too big to fit under your interference microscope?

  • How do you find defects on a coated plastic film, as it whirs by at production speeds?

  • How do you make high precision 3D measurements of wear on a turbine engine, using a handheld gauge— while standing on the flightline?

It’s been a long and interesting journey—from interferometers for measuring the James Webb Space Telescope, to an interferometer that can fit in the palm of your hand. Join us on a guided tour, reviewing some of the world’s most challenging metrology situations, and the remarkable engineering that conquered them.




Presented by:

Neal Brock
Director, New Technology Development
4D Technology


Sponsored by:



Watch on any mobile device – phone or tablet - or listen while you drive to work!

More in Home